Spring Management Advisory Committee

In August 1998, the Shire hosted a public meeting to discuss the question of reconciliation between aboriginal and non-aboriginal people in the district. The meeting was facilitated by Fred Collard and Tim Muirhead from Perth. Over the ensuing months the Kojonup Springs Agreement was developed and officially signed on 18 September 1999 and is displayed in the foyer of the Council Office.

“The Springs” as stated in the Agreement has special spiritual and cultural significance to both Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people of the district of Kojonup. Visual inspection of the area excluding the Barrack’s and Old Post Office indicates that other than mowing there has not been any significant works undertaken in recent years.



174/15      That:

  • Council and the Kojonup Aboriginal Community reconvene the joint management of the Kojonup “Spring” by way of a special committee comprising three (3) members from the Kojonup Aboriginal Corporation and three (3) elected members namely Cr Pritchard, Cr Fleay and Cr Pedler with the Chief Executive Officer providing governance support.
  • At least two (2) meetings be held each year with Council representation to be reviewed after each Local Government election cycle of two (2) years.
  • In relation to the Barrack’s and Old Post Office areas; Council representation continues via elected member attendance at Kojonup Historical Society meetings with the opportunity for the Historical Society to meet full Council via Briefing Session as presently occurs.