Kojonup Bushfire Advisory Committee


Established under Section 67 of the Bush Fires Act 1954.

Current Terms of Reference:

The Bush Fire Advisory Committee is established for the purpose of:

a)   Advising the Shire regarding all matters relating to the preventing, controlling and extinguishing of bush fires;

b)   The planning of the layout of firebreaks in the district;

c)   Prosecutions for breaches of this Act;

d) The formation of bush fire brigades and the grouping thereof under group brigade officers (in accordance with any local laws);

e) Recommendations on Fire Control Officer positions;

f) Feedback on the Council’s Fire Break Notice;

g) Specific requirements from each brigade with regard to:

  • Protective Personal Equipment;
  • Equipment and vehicles resources required; and
  • Training Requirements;

h) The ensuring of cooperation and coordination of Bush Fire Brigades in their efforts and activities; and

i) Any other matter relating to bush fire control whether of the same kind as, or a different kind from, those specified in this subsection.


a) The Bush Fire Advisory Committee shall include an elected member of the Council;

b) The committee shall elect one of their members to be chairman;

c) The quorum required for the transaction of business at meetings of the committee is set at ten (10).

Current Membership:

Twenty Two (20):

The Bushfire Control officer from each Brigade (12);

The Chief Bush Fire Control Officer;

The Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officer;

Muradup Town Fire Control Officer;

The President of the Bushfire Association;

A Councillor (currently Cr Ned Radford, Cr John Benn);

CEO and two Council Officers (currently Rob Cowie, Regulatory & Administration Officer and one vacancy); and

Observer – The Secretary of the Bushfire Association